Honesty

Recently I’ve started receiving a lot of comments. This is new for me. I look at every one because I have comment moderation turned on.

Routinely, nearly 100% of the comments that come in are marked as “spam” by my system. That’s because they link back to commercial websites.

First, I didn’t think much of this. Some of the comments were obviously glib and linked back to sex sites. Most of those did not survive moderation.

But I have gotten a really lot of comments on my “Dancing” article, and many of them came from the same company selling cigarettes. They would each link to a different page on that website.

These were nice comments. Kind of “vanilla” but they seemed genuine.

But now I’d like to ask you: Are they?

Are you leaving comments at my site because you really like it, or because someone told you to do it in the hopes that it would increase traffic at the site of the company where you work? I’m not going to hold you up as some kind of big hypocrite if you answer with “yeah, that’s really why I left a comment.”

But I do want to point out that there is some dishonesty in such an action. And dishonesty leads to violations of your own integrity, and to the contamination of your true feelings for the things you really love, and also the things you really hate. And the end product of those compromises could be the belief that it doesn’t really matter. And I’m here to remind you: It does really matter.

The game here on earth may come to an end. Or it could survive for many centuries, in some state or another. And if it does, you will probably be in it (and so will I) – in some state or another.

A lot of writers – a lot of people – have said this down through the years. And I don’t much care if they were right to say it then; I think it’s right to say now:

The time has come to get straight. We have enough knowledge now, enough free time, enough space for inner reflection and serious study, to actually accomplish this. To step out of the lies we tell ourselves every day to make the game seem more real, to take a look at the game from a more exterior point of view and to decide what’s really important in this game and what isn’t. And that’s a big step towards honesty.

It’s okay if we play the game of trying to get more site visits for the companies where we work. But why not just do it honestly? What’s wrong with it? We all need to work at companies or as our own companies. And our companies need attention from potential customers in order to stay in business and prosper. So why hide what we are doing? It is nothing to be ashamed of. And if we leave a comment at a site saying we really liked it, when we really didn’t look at it or didn’t really have an opinion, that’s something to be ashamed of. That is a form of self-harm.

Reminder: If you think people should be more honest, get onto Twitter and say so, and put #GUYTTT (Give us youth: Tell the truth!) in the tweet so I can count the number of tweets made in the name of more honesty in government, in the media, and in our personal lives.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Honesty”

  1. Glen Says:

    I could not resist commenting. Well written!
    Note: This comment links to a youtube video (http://301binaryoptions.com) about making a lot of money easily. I took the link out, though I’m showing it in this note. Is it honest to make money this way? It doesn’t seem that way to me. We all need a place in our world, a “hat to wear” so to speak. It could be simple or it could be challenging. It seems like the basic reward for wearing your hat should be basic security as a member of the community. But if your hat is more challenging, your rewards should also be greater. Is that too much to expect from a society? We have a lot to learn about living together. But it seems the whole concept relies on mutual assistance. How else could it work? How does anyone make a lot of money with little effort except by stealing it from many others who make less money but put in more effort?
    Glen, I do thank you, though, for your comment. – Larry

  2. willard Says:

    This post is invaluable. How can I find out more? Answer: See articles under Resources category.

  3. Larry Cox Says:

    Today I received 40 comments. They were all from companies, and most of them were trackbacks. Some of them were obviously mindless, and some less so. I published 4 of them. But so far, I can’t really tell if real people are really reading my articles, or if companies are just playing comment games. Your input is welcome.

  4. wilda-turnbull@gmail.com Says:

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after looking at a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely pleased I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!
    Note: This is an example of what I consider to be a dishonest comment. I have now seen this exact same text several times. The source of this comment has likely not read my articles and is only hoping for traffic to their site.

  5. unnamed Says:

    Howdy! Notice: Please don’t use a company name for your name. Use your name. If you don’t want to receive real emails from real people, then just don’t include an email. I am now deleting all emails connected to company sites. You company’s URL is OK, but if I find out any of these companies are bogus, I will write about it.

  6. Gena Says:

    Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!
    Note: Cool story! But your email didn’t work.

  7. maybelle Says:

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.

    I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

    Note: Is she being sincere? I’ll try to find out. Email address doesn’t work!

  8. crystal Says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that I’ve really loved surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your feed and I hope you write again very soon!
    Note: More spam. Cool, eh?

  9. winefred Says:

    The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!
    Note: This is a more creative form of spam that I occasionally get. But it’s still spam. Fake name and email; the whole nine yards.

  10. Chante Says:

    With having so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement? My website has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement. Do you know any ways to help protect against content from being stolen? I’d certainly appreciate it.
    Note: This seems like a valid communication, but the email address given is not working, so we can assume for now that this is another example of a spam comment.

  11. thurman Says:

    Good day! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!
    Note: Nice sentiment; is he telling the truth? Email doesn’t work…

Leave a Reply

