Let’s Step Back for a Moment

I started this blog a couple of years ago because my web design teacher asked me to.

Less than a year ago, I began to pay attention to “tags” and add them to my posts. And after that, people started finding my posts, following my blog, and leaving comments.

This is a very new blog, and writing for the internet is new for me.

Very recently “Amedar” requested that I expand on some of the themes I write about. Amedar, if you see this, send another comment to me and tell me what you are most interested in.

Meanwhile, I will go over some basics for new readers.

I am currently unemployed, so have the time to read and write and “step back” a little. I hope that my readers are all doing well, but I also hope that you can afford to “step back” from your lives now and again and look at things from a broader perspective.

I don’t particularly want these posts to be about me. Nor do they need to be about you. But I think that you, the reader, have a right to know a bit about the person who is sending out these messages.

I was born in 1954, in Berkeley, California. I grew up in California, and between 1964 and 1976, in Ann Arbor, Michigan. My parents were both first-generation college graduates. They expected all their children to be second-generation college graduates. But, while my sister and brother went down this path quite willingly, I did not.

My sister and brother don’t particularly remember the day in 1963 that Kennedy was killed in Dallas, Texas. But I do. And I will never forget the line of questioning that originated in my mind as a result of those events: Why did this happen? Why would anyone want to kill the President?

There were many other questions. Many digressions. Many stops along the way to learn a skill, learn to cook, learn to play guitar, to read what others were thinking about.

But finally I ran into a person, through a book he wrote, who seemed genuinely interested in the exact same question that I had started with. And so I decided to devote some time to learning more about what he had to say. And I also decided, for better or for worse, to move to Los Angeles and work for the organization that was making it possible for people like me to find this man’s books and read them.

My time in Los Angeles was interesting for me. After all, it was where both my parents had been born and grew up. But I didn’t want that to be my story. I wanted to do something to connect more people with Hubbard’s story. It had helped me to understand some things. And his suggestions, when I was brave enough to follow them, had helped me personally to survive at a higher level. So after 26 years in Los Angeles, I decided it was time for me to go back out into the “real world” and see what I could do about this.

I used my interests in computers, science fiction, UFOs, psychology, Scientology and the arts as stepping stones back into the bigger world of ideas and actions. And I began to write about these topics from the perspective of what I had learned from “my teacher” L. Ron Hubbard while I was in Los Angeles.

The Clash of Opposing Intentions

What I found as I listened and read and wrote was that opposing intentions existed on this planet that were largely hidden and, therefore, almost impossible for anyone to understand. We see the results of these struggles. Wars, famine, terrorist attacks, crime. But we are not privy to the machinations behind these events, and are lead to believe that, since they always have happened, they will always continue to happen. But how are we to survive? How is our planet to survive? If the apparent destructiveness of Mankind cannot somehow be resolved?

According to Hubbard, it is somewhat workable to simplify this clash of intentions along one common theme: The urge to survive.

What this implies is that beings exist who, for some reason, no longer wish to survive. At first look, this seems like an absurd proposition. But every day people die of “natural causes,” “accidents,” “suicide.” Does not this fact betray an urge to succumb in Mankind? In fact, if people never died, how would we make room for all the people who seem to want to be born?

When Hubbard wrote Dianetics in 1950, he posed this problem in terms of traditional psychology, with one important twist: The mind, somehow, can make the body do things that aren’t good for it, or simply make no sense. He interpreted this, at that time, as a kind of accidental post-hypnotic suggestion. Hypnotists are noted for getting people to act in bizarre ways simply by installing a suggestion during hypnosis, then triggering it after the person is brought out of trance. This was an observable, working mechanism, and Hubbard proposed that people were being affected by it, willy-nilly, in the process of going through life. Dianetics was devoted to explaining all this, and teaching a method for ridding a person of unwanted hypnotic commands.

Dianetics was a great stride forward. Because it enabled us to assume that the individual always wants to survive, and that he only succumbs because he picks up hypnotic commands during the process of living that tell him he should succumb. This made us the “good guys” and the commands the “bad guys.”

That, however, was only the beginning of the story. What Hubbard did not have time to verify before he published Dianetics was that some people, in therapy, were remembering past lives (and deaths).

This was a real problem. Addressing those incidents as if they were real, and not just imagined, helped patients get better. So Hubbard was not willing to write this off. It’s just that this took him beyond the limits of traditional psychology and back into the philosophies that he had studied in Asia, and that Carl Jung had toyed with in his later years. It took him, frankly, into the realm of religion.

By 1954, Hubbard was getting so much flak from various academic, political and media groups that he finally went along with the suggestion of one of his students and established a church, thinking this would help protect his work from undue interference.

This actually worked out okay. But it’s not a very important part of the story. To this day, enemies of spiritual freedom try to harass Hubbard and the church for all their real and imagined faults. But that’s all a bit beside the point, isn’t it?

What did Hubbard go on to discover? That’s the real question.

The work of the church has helped to answer that question for those who are interested. The church has preserved all of his recorded lectures – which number about 3,000 – and has restored most of them and released them on CDs. Virtually all of his written materials are available. Besides roughly 20 books, there are about 13 large volumes of Technical Bulletins and a similar number of similar-sized volumes of Policy Letters.

It’s a lot of material. I have not studied nearly all of it yet, and actually very few people get the opportunity to do so. But it is a worthy goal, in my opinion. Because, the work, for the most part, seems actually workable.

I emphasize in my posts the material that I think is most pertinent to current events on earth. Ethics, the Suppressive personality, and the Third Party Law are key basics that all of us should be aware of. Do they apply well in every situation you will run into? Well, I don’t really know. I hope some people will try applying some of this data and let me know how it goes for them. It’s a learning process for all of us.

A Resource I highly recommend

I really like the site that I link to below. I would like to know what others think about this site, and if it seems like something useful to you.

I have been trained on all the courses listed on this site. So feel free to ask me about them in your comments. But if you want the benefits of these technologies for yourself, you will have to go ahead and get trained in them yourself. That’s just how that works.

Volunteer Minsters Solutions Page.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Let’s Step Back for a Moment”

  1. Albertina Says:

    Excellent beat! I would like to apprentice even as you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a weblog web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I have been tiny bit familiar of this your broadcast provided vivid clear concept. Answer: What is your native language?

Leave a Reply

