ITC280 – list and view

List and view is the basic web technique for viewing data in a database.

I am hoping to someday move beyond this technique, as I consider it very primitive, and inappropriate for some schemas. But everybody has to learn list and view.

Our instructor gave us two very basic pages about “muffins” that we were supposed to get working and then re-purpose to our own theme. I spent several hours today getting them working.

I wanted to try them as includes, instead of public pages, but this took some work. There is some logic in the view page that inspects the data handed to it by the the browser when someone clicks a button on the list page. If the data is no good for some reason, the view page is supposed to kick the system back to the list page (called a redirect).

When I was editing this code I messed up this logic, and it took a while to restore it to proper working order. Then I had to decide what to do about the fact that my local (at home) list page is different than my school list page. I decided to replace the calls to these pages with a variable defined at the top of each page. So my pages at school use the file I need to use at school, and the one at home uses the other file. I’m sure there is a more elegant way to do this.

Now the plan is to build this functionality into my two working versions that display images of artwork instead of muffins. This has to be done real fast so we can move on to the next part of the system.

Leave a Reply

